Steve Hart Award


Aashirwad Sangal

Katie Schreiner

I would like to express my gratitude to the Air and Waste Management Association Ottawa Valley Chapter for awarding me the Steve Hart award. It is an honour to accept this award. This past year has been challenging for many people, including students and researchers, so it is especially gratifying to be recognised during this difficult time. I am privileged to be working on a compelling project with two very supportive supervisors, Dr. Rennie and Dr. Mohammadian. Although we have already made substantial advances on this project, we have much left to do in the coming year as I push toward graduation. Thank you again for your recognition, and for the opportunity to present my research to you.

For the past several years, the Ottawa Valley Chapter has provided scholarships to deserving students from the region. Typically, the recipient of this scholarship is the student who has delivered the best presentation at the Ottawa-Carleton Institute for Environmental Engineering (OCIENE) Seminar Competition held two times per year jointly by University of Ottawa and Carleton University.

In 2010, the board renamed this award the Steve Hart A&WMA Ottawa Valley Chapter Student Award in recognition of Mr. Hart’s long time commitment and support of the A&WMA and the Ottawa Valley Chapter. Mr. Hart is a former chair of the Ottawa Valley Chapter and was a key force in revitalizing and supporting the chapter a. He was President of A&WMA International from 1980 to 1981 and Executive Director from 1983 to 1987. As well, Mr. Hart received A&WMA's Charles W. Gruber Association Leadership Award in 2005 and has received an honorary A&WMA Membership.

The first recipient of the Steve Hart A&WMA Ottawa Valley Chapter Student Award was Mohamed Abdallah of University of Ottawa for his presentation at the Fall 2010 Seminar Series entitled “Sensor-based Monitoring and Remote-control Technology (SMART) for Bioreactor Landfills”.

Past Recipients of the

Steve Hart A&WMA Ottawa Valley Chapter Student Award:


Katie Schreiner - Interaction of a Submerged Transverse Jet with a Channel Bend


Aashriwad Sangal - Hydrolysis of Food Waste in a Leach Bed Reactor: Effect of Electrolysis enabled Microaeration


Ata Babakhani

Elias Dagher


Ashley Piche

Emily Piggot


Mohammad Alresheedi

Robyn Chatwin-Davis


Bradley Young - Winterize your lagoon: Tertiary MBBR Nitrification


Xin Tian - Investigation of nitrification kinetics and solids production in tertiary nitrification bio-card biofilm reactors